Book Review – A Way Back Into Love by Veronica Thatcher

OK, so I have returned to my blog (that was dead for exactly 2 years!). I have to thank book review tours for this. I have been reviewing books with them for a while now (on Goodreads and Amazon), but it’s only now that I thought of writing the review on my blog (and revive it at last).

Cover - 3D

A Way Back Into Love

Disclaimer: This is going to be solely my opinion and observation about the book as I had received a complimentary copy for an honest review.

Genre: Contemporary Romance

My rating: 3.5/5

The story is about Emily Stevens – a cheerful teen and her best friend since kindergarten Derek Thorpe. The friendship of fifteen years takes a different turn as Emily realizes she is in love with Derek. But as fate would have it, one night something happens which changes Emily’s life completely. Heartbroken and dejected on learning that the feeling is not mutual, Emily decides to leave for Boston in the middle of the term – away from Derek, away from the place and away from everything. Derek is clueless about Emily’s drastic step. But she cannot run forever, and so when she finishes her med school and returns home – she is back to all that she had once left behind.

Five years is a long time to change people, but Emily’s feelings for Derek haven’t. She has to get over her heartache, for Derek is engaged to marry her sister Emma now. But life once again brings them closer as they start working together at a hospital. Over time, more life-changing, fate-changing events take place in both their lives. Does Derek finally learn why Emily had left him 5 years ago? Does Emily learn what Derek truly feels for her? Do they finally know what exactly went wrong between them that changed both their lives?

**********

My Review

I seldom read romance novels and it has been a really long time since I read one, so I decided to read this. Though the plot was simple, the author managed to keep the readers interested with the flashback-styled narration that switched between different times in the lives of the characters. The book didn’t exactly keep me hooked, in fact, I took quite longer than usual to finish a book. But that’s just me, maybe those fond of romantic novels would disagree with me on this. Overall, it was an okay book for a light read. My best wishes to the author for her next book(s).

One thought on “Book Review – A Way Back Into Love by Veronica Thatcher

Leave a Reply

